Pencak Silat Federation
United Kingdom


The International Pencak Silat Federation, Persekutuan Pencak Silat Antarabangsa (PERSILAT) was established on 11 March 1980 as a result of a conference in Jakarta, which was attended by the Indonesian Pencak Silat Association (IPSI), the Singaporean Pencak Silat Federation (PERSISI), a representative of the Ministry of Culture, Youth and Sport of Malaysia and observers from Brunei Darussalam.

The aim of PERSILAT is to promote and encourage the development of Pencak Silat outside its source region. Pencak Silat is an integral part of the Malay cultural heritage and should be preserved, built and developed in line with the noble values embodied by the art.


The composition of the management of PERSILAT represents the four founding countries, i.e. Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Brunei Darussalam. The leadership of PERSILAT has been entrusted to the Indonesian Pencak Silat Federation (IPSI).

The plenary meeting of PERSILAT constitutes an evaluation forum of the implementation of the annual program and the formulation of the work program for the following year. This meeting is attended by representatives of the four founding countries. Every two years all member countries are invited to the PERSILAT Congress, where members report on their activities for the previous period and have the opportunity to discuss various matters concerning Pencak Silat.


PERSILAT Membership

The membership of PERSILAT is divided into four groups:

The Founding Members

  • Ikatan Pencak Silat Indonesia (IPSI)
  • Persekutuan Silat Kebangsaan Malaysia (PESAKA)
  • Persekutuan Silat Singapura (PERSISI)
  • Persekutuan Silat Kebangsaan Brunei Darrusalam (PERSIB)

The Affiliated Members

The countries with a national level Silat organisation, that has been recognised by the relevant Government Agency of that country.

The Associated Members

Countries, in which the national level Silat organisation has not received Government recognition or, countries in which Silat exists only as individual schools ('perguruan') with a national level Silat organisation not yet having been established.

The Junior Members

Countries, in which links have been established between PERSILAT and a club (perguruan) or an individual but which do not qualify for a higher level of membership

Countries listed as members of PERSILAT include:

Asian Region (18 countries):

Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore, Brunei Darussalam (Founders), Cambodia, Japan, India, Laos, Myanmar, Nepal, Philippines, Thailand, Vietnam, Azerbaijan, Kazakstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Kyrgyztan

European Region (10 countries):

Austria, Belgium, France, Germany, Italy, Netherlands, Spain, Russia, Switzerland, Turkey, United Kingdom

Middle Eastern Region (4 countries):

Kuwait, Palestine, Saudi Arabia, Yemen

African Region (3 countries):

Egypt, South Africa, Suriname

American Region (2 countries):

Canada, USA

Oceania Region (2 countries):

Australia, New Zealand


International Development Programme

PERSILAT aims to promote the building of national and international Pencak Silat organisations, Pencak Silat 'olahraga' and 'seni-beladiri' through the up-grading of the organisers, trainers and referees. Its activities will be undertaken in source region countries or by invitation in Associated/Affiliated Member countries. A coordinated global series of championships are held at national, regional and international level with World Championships being held every two years.

Within ASEAN (Association of South East Asian Nations) countries, Silat is represented at the South East Asian Games, Asian Games and the South East Asian University Games.

PERSILAT welcomes support from all its members in the development of Pencak Silat around the world.